myhollydays

A glimpse into the world of the handicapable.

Archive for the day “August 7, 2011”

Questions for readers…

Hey all,
I am developing a future blog “Q&A”. I’d love to be able to answer questions, dispell myths or just clarify information regarding wheelchairs, driving, independent living skills, peer interaction, socialization or relationships/marriage. Please feel free to email me at hollykimcates79@gmail.com with your questions. I look forward to hearing from you!

Should I be offended?

Chris noticed this weekend that people are being super nice and friendly to me lately. Not just family and friends (they are always nice and friendly), but complete strangers.

Recently, on quick trip to the mall to get a pretzel fix, we encountered two guys with a very bizarre taste in clothes. They kept asking about the status of my health and then offered to pray for my healing. Usually I go with it and pray with them, but these guys were very off. They were in my face and staring at me with a blank, strung out expression (creepy…). I told them that they were more than welcome to pray for my healing over there (pointing to the opposite side of the ramp) while I continued to roll away with my husband. They did just that. Seriously, should I be offended?

Then today I had several instances in which people offered assistance. I politely declined and went on my merry way. I actually didn’t think anything of it until Chris pointed it out. He asked if I was offended by their offer. I really wasn’t. The kindness of strangers often occurs when I’m out and about by myself. I think it’s sweet and at times, helpful. Should I have been offended?

Post Navigation