myhollydays

A glimpse into the world of the handicapable.

“Q&A”

I usually have strangers ask me random questions (mostly about my differently abledness). I thought I’d just collect a few of the questions and answer them. Please…take notes…take them seriously and try them on someone you barely know. smile emoticon Good luck.

A quick Q&A by Hol…

Q: Should I kneel, sit or squat down to talk to you?
A: Yes all three…and in that order. However, bowing is preferred (and a great alternative if you have bad knees).

Q: Is it okay to use the handicap stall if I am not disabled?
A: No. You will catch my disability (I am highly contagious). I’m only thinking of your well-being and future mobility.

Q: Is it okay if I hold the door open for you?
A: Sure it is. I think it’s polite and nice. Just make sure you bow, kneel, sit and squat as well. smile emoticon Who says chivalry is dead?

Q: What happened to you?
A: As stated in my blog (https://myhollydays.wordpress.com ), I was bitten by a disabled radioactive spider. JUST KIDDING! I used the handicap stall.

Q: Does it bother you that people stare?
A: It depends on who or what they are staring at. If they are staring at thin air and talking to it…I grow concerned and end up staring at them. Do you think it bothers them? Hmmm…..my, how the tables have turned….I’ve digressed.

No. It does not bother me, I know I’m awesome…so people should take notice.smile emoticon

Q: You are pregnant. How does that work?
A: You are observant. It’s like being able to walk (with a baby inside your tummy), only, I sit all the time…and I mean ALL the time. (I sleep, shower, etc. in my wheelchair).

I hope you’ve enjoyed this session of Q&A by Hol

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on ““Q&A”

  1. Heather on said:

    Our daughter, who also has spina bifida, is expecting her first baby. We are looking into modifying a crib for her. Do you have any suggestions?

    • Hi Heather! First off, congratulations!!!!!! I wish her a safe and healthy baby!

      I use a wheelchair full time, and what has worked for me is the mini-cosleep. I use it because it’s small, the side can come up and down for easier reach and it’s lower to the ground. You can easily keep it by your bed and have easy access to the newborn. I’ve always kept the sides up until I was transferring the baby in and out. But see what works for her. 😃 I’ll post a picture when I can find it.

      I’m currently pregnant with baby number three-so I’ve had time to play with what works. Surprisingly, what’s worked for one, didn’t always work for the other. Odd, huh?

      I’m so excited for your bundle of joy!!! Keep happy and healthy!

      MyHollyDays

Leave a comment